User Control 3

User Control 3

USER CONTROL 3 SCREEN

This screen is a continuation of User Control options and should be completed for every User set up in the system. When you enter the User Control 3 level, the screen will appear as follows:



The User id field will prompt the User ID of the person currently logged into the system. Type over the default with the User ID of the User for which you are implementing controls. Hit enter through the User Password fieldand hit enter again to get to the first control prompt in this screen. 


Field Descriptions for User Control 3 Level screen:

Allowed to change tax defaultthis control will prevent a User from making changes to the Sales Tax default anywhere this field prompts in the system. If you wish to enforce this control, change the default to “N” for no; otherwise leave it set to “Y” for yes to allow changes to the default tax prompt. 


Allowed to add Initials records- this control is tied to a module in the Sales Processing Setup Menu titled Initials Maintenanceas well as to the Initials field in the Order Entry module. If this control is set to “N” for no, the User will not be able to build Initials records from either place in the system. They can select and change the Initials record on the job, but they cannot create a new one. 


Disregard Transfer/Assign Security- this control is directly tied to the Branch Control Maintenance module. If you are not using that module, leave this control set to “N” for no. If you are using that module, this control will allow a User to override the settings in that module. For example, if you have the system set up so that two Branches cannot transfer inventory back and forth, or see one another’s inventory or purchase orders, with this control set to “Y” for yes, this User will still be able to complete those processes. 


Allow edit of labor cost in Work Order- this option controls whether a User can edit labor costs that print out on the Work Order. In order for this to be a viable option, the System Control option, Allow Edit Of Cost For Labor In W/O, must also be set to “Y” for yes. 


Allow Retail Cost Review Option- this control, if set to “Y” for yes, will allow the use of the Cost Review feature in a residential Quote instead of just in the commercial Quote, where it is already available. This option is a view only screen unlike the commercial Quote where you can make adjustments. You can only turn this feature on for a User that is allowed to sell below the A-J programmed margin pricing. The system will advise you if User is prevented from using this feature. 


Allow Add of Inventory in Order Entry- with this control set to “N” for no, the User will no longer be able to receive inventory back into the system via adding a negative Work Quantity material line. The preferred method for receiving material back into the system is through the Work Order prior to invoicing and through the Credit Memo after invoicing. 


Allow to Change Overbill- with this control set to “N” for no, the User will no longer be able to change any Overbill field throughout the system. 


Allow to Select Branch to Return to C/M- with this control set to “Y” for yes, the User will be able to direct inventory returned via the Credit Memo to a Branch other than the current Branch. 


Dissallow Update of Labor Cost- if the User can see costs, but you don’t want them to change costs, set this control to “Y” for yes. If the User is already prevented from seeing costs in the User Control 1 screen (Disallow Cost Information to Show) this control will also need to be set to “Y” for yes. If you set this control to “N” for no when the Disallow Cost Information to Show question is set to “Y” for yes, the following message will prompt: **Cannot Change Labor Cost Flag**, Disallow Cost Information to Show set to Y, Changing Labor Setting to Y. Additionally, if this control is set to “Y” for yes, a sub-question will prompt as follows: Allow update of labor cost in quote. The default is No, so you will need to select Yes to allow. 


Allow entry of Date on Adjustments in INV- this control, when set to “Y” for yes, will prompt the current date when the User makes an inventory adjustment and then allows the User to change the date to another valid date. If the control is set to “N” for no, no change will occur.  


Allow closing of invoiced labor lines- this control, when set to “Y” for yes, will allow a User to zero the remaining cost of a labor line in Job Labor Maintenance, thereby sending that portion to profit on the job. This was developed for a specific customer and may not apply to every company, therefore it should be set to “N” for no for most Users.  


Allow user to Close job – Invoicing- with this control set to “Y” for yes, the system will operate for the User as normal. However, if you decide you will allow this User to invoice a job, but not Close the job, with this control set to “N” for no, the system will no longer prompt “Close Job?” at the end of the invoicing process. 


Allow entry of over the counter sale- this control defaults to “Y” for yes, which represents no change to the User. However, if set to “N” for no, the system will go directly into Order Entry and skip the prompt that would allow the option to enter an “Over The Counter Sale” job. This would prevent the User from creating a quick Cash & Carry sale. 


Allow user to close job – OTC sale- this control will default to “Y” for yes for all Users and will also now prompt “Close Job?” at the end of the invoicing process, where it automatically closed in the past. If you set this control to “N” for no, the User will not see the “Close Job?” prompt and will not be able to close an Over the Counter Sale job. 


Allow user – Commerical Order Entry- with this control set to “Y” for yes and where the User can see costs and sell below the A-J margin pricing, they can activate the entering of an override of cost, freight, and margin via the (F1) Pricing Table option when the cursor is in the Price field. To use this feature, once the Pricing Table is displayed, hit F1 at the Type F1 to Set Margin and Display Cost prompt to bring up CostFreight, and Margin % fields. The cursor will jump to the Margin % field and display the current margin, but you can up arrow to the Cost and Freight fields to make changes. Any cost changes will automatically prompt on the PO and will be used for the Cost Review option calculations. 


Allow Salesperson change quote/job- this control only applies to non-salesperson Users. If the User is set up as a salesperson, the system will skip this prompt. If you would like to prevent non-salespeople from changing the Salesperson ID in Order EntryQuote EntryView Job Costand Cost Maintenance, set this control to “N” for no. 


As soon as you enter through the last field of the User Control 3 screen or hit Esc to exit, the system will prompt the following: Save Changes? Type a “Y” to save any changes or a “D” to delete the User, if applicable.



    • Related Articles

    • User Control 7

      USER CONTROL 7 SCREEN This screen is a continuation of User Control options and should be completed for every User set up in the system. When you enter the User Control 7 level, the screen will appear as follows: The User id field will ...
    • User Control 6

      USER CONTROL 6 SCREEN This screen is a continuation of User Control options and should be completed for every User set up in the system. When you enter the User Control 6 level, the screen will appear as follows: The User id field will ...
    • User Control 5

      USER CONTROL 5 SCREEN This screen is a continuation of User Control options and should be completed for every User set up in the system. When you enter the User Control 5 level, the screen will appear as follows: The User id field will ...
    • User Control

      In order to access the User Control level and begin creating User ID’s, the “User Specific Control” field in the Branch Control 1 level screen needs to be set to “Y” for yes. With this control enabled, each User will be given his or her own User ID ...
    • User Control 4

      USER CONTROL 4 SCREEN This screen is a continuation of User Control options and should be completed for every User set up in the system. When you enter the User Control 4 level, the screen will appear as follows: The User id field will ...